AODA



    The Genuine Canadian Corporation

    AODA Integrated Accessibility Standards Multi Year Plan

    HR-225b ON
    Revised: December 2017

    This 2014-2021 accessibility plan outlines the policies and actions that The Genuine Canadian Corporation will put into place to improve opportunities for people with disabilities in Ontario.

    Statement of Commitment

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is committed to treating all people in a way that allows them to maintain their dignity and independence. We believe in integration and equal opportunity. We are committed to meeting the needs of people with disabilities in a timely manner, and will do so by preventing and removing barriers to accessibility and meeting accessibility requirements. In Ontario, we are committed to meeting our obligations under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act.

    Application

    This specific policy applies to our Ontario workforce and any employees interacting with individuals in Ontario.

    Accessible Emergency Information

    On an on-going basis, we provide employees with disabilities with individualized emergency response information, where needed.

    Customer Service

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation strives at all times to provide goods and services in a way that respects the dignity and independence of persons with disabilities.

    Temporary Disruptions

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is committed to advising about disruptions to accessibility (such as automated doors, accessible washrooms, elevators, escalators) as quickly and efficiently possible as well as advising about expected dates the disruption will end and accessible alternatives.

    Training

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is committed to a robust training program for employees who deal with the public. Employees who deal with the public have been trained on Ontario’s accessibility laws and on the Human Rights Code, particularly as it deals with disabilities. New employees are trained as part of the orientation basis.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation will provide training to employees in Ontario and others who deal with the public in Ontario on Ontario’s accessibility laws and on Human Rights Code as it relates to people with disabilities. Training will be provided in a way that best suits the duties of employees and will take into account any accessibility needs.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation will take the following steps to ensure employees are provided with the training needed to meet Ontario’s accessible laws:

    • Provide Ontario employees with training on providing accessible customer service to
    • people with disabilities and the Human Rights Code as soon as it is practicable to do so after employees commence employment
    • Provide updated training to Ontario employees when there are changes to accessibility policies, legislative requirements, and in any event, not less than every 24 months
    • Keep written record of the accessibility training provided to employees
    • Refresh training on periodic basis

    Information and Communications

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is committed to meeting the communication needs of people with disabilities. We will consult with people with disabilities to determine their information and communication needs.

    Effective January 1, 2014, the Genuine Canadian Corporation will ensure that all new websites controlled by the Genuine Canadian Corporation on those sites conform with WCAG 2.0, Level A. In addition, any web content published on or after January 1, 2012 on websites that the Genuine Canadian Corporation controls will conform with WCAG 2.0, Level A by January 1, 2014.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is committed to ensuring that feedback processes across the organization are available to all members of the public, regardless of disabilities, upon request by January 1, 2015.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is willing and able to send documentation in PDF format (or other format) that is easily accessible by screen readers, upon request.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation will ensure all publicly available information is made accessible. The Genuine Canadian Corporation will consult with the person making the request determining the accessible formats or communication support required. The Genuine Canadian Corporation will make all websites controlled by them conform with WCAG2.0 Level AA by January 1, 2021, save and except for exemptions that are permitted by law.

    Employment

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is committed to fair accessible employment practices. We are committed to formalizing and incorporating our processes in writing and as part of our training program by no later than January 1, 2016.

    We want to ensure that all actions, including but not limited to, employee recruitment, selection, hiring, performance evaluations, training, position changes etc. are conducted objectively.

    • We already reasonably accommodate for known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a disability unless there is undue hardship.
    • Any applicant or employee who requires an accommodation in order to perform the essential functions of the job will be advised as to the process of contacting a member of the Human Resources team and requesting such accommodation.
    • We will also notify current employees and applicants of the availability of accommodation for persons with disabilities, during the following stages:
      • During the recruitment process, in any advertisements or job postings about the job: when job applicants are individually selected to participate in an assessment or selection process
      • When/if a selected applicant requests an accommodation, The Genuine Canadian Corporation shall consult with the applicant and provide or arrange for suitable accommodation that takes into account the applicant’s disability
      • When an applicant is successful, we will notify them of the policies for accommodating employees with disabilities
      • After they begin employment, employees will be notified of the availability of accommodation and how to access such accommodation.
      • Employees will be advised when there is a change to existing policies regarding accessibility or human rights in a timely fashion
      • Employees will be trained on their rights and obligations under the Ontario Human Rights Code and Ontario’s accessibility laws on a periodic basis, not less than once in 24 months
      • Communications with employees and job candidates will take into account any accessibility needs

    Individual Accommodation Plans (IAP) and Return to Work (RTW)

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is committed to the principle of accommodation up to the point of undue hardship.

    By January 1, 2016, The Genuine Canadian Corporation will take the following steps to develop and put in place a process for developing Individual Accommodation Plans and Return to Work Plans and processes for employees that have been absent due to a disability:

    • Review and, as necessary, modify and document existing return to work processes for employees who have been absent from work due to a disability and require accommodation in order to return to work
    • Develop an IAP that includes the following
      • The employee’s participation and cooperation in the development of the IAP
      • Assessment on an individual basis
      • The review of relevant information, including medical information regarding restrictions or limitations
      • Identification of accommodations
      • The Genuine Canadian Corporation may request an evaluation by outside medical or other expert, at our expense, to assist with determining accommodation and how to achieve accommodation
      • Frequency with which the IAP will be reviewed and updated and the manner in which it will be done; such review shall take place at least once a year
      • Setting out job duties (including revised or modified job duties), timelines and performance expectations
      • How decisions regarding requests for accommodation will be communicated to the employee, including information regarding how the employee may seek a reconsideration
      • Ensure that the employee, once accommodated, is able to perform the essential duties of the position to the reasonable satisfaction of The Genuine Canadian Corporation

    Develop and provide appropriate training to managers and other employees responsible for supporting the return to work and accommodation process. The training will ensure effective execution of the process on a continuous basis. The Genuine Canadian Corporation shall ensure that any IAP is considered in the context of performance management, career development and advancement, and redeployment (as an alternative to layoff).

    Performance Management and Career Development

    By January 1, 2016, The Genuine Canadian Corporation will:

    • Review and, as necessary, modify existing performance management, career development and redeployment processes to ensure that the accessibility needs and individual accommodation plans of colleagues with disabilities are taken into account
    • Develop and provide appropriate training to managers and other employees responsible for supporting or impacting performance management, career development and advancement processes that will ensure compliance with the processes on a continuous basis

    Design of Public Spaces

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is already committed to the principle of accessibility as part of its on-going design philosophy. With respect to any new construction or renovation, The Genuine Canadian Corporation will meet the Accessibility Standards for the Design of Public Spaces when building or making major modifications to public spaces which it owns and/or controls. Public Spaces include:

    • Service Counters
    • Store front entrances
    • Washrooms and change rooms
    • Parking areas and exterior paths to our store where such spaces are under our control. In the event of a service disruption, The Genuine Canadian Corporation will notify the public of the service disruption as soon as feasible and description of alternative option, if available.

    In the event of a service disruption, The Genuine Canadian Corporation will notify the public of the service disruption as soon as feasible and description of alternative option, if available.

    Contact Information for Feedback, Complaints and Suggestions

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation is interested in feedback, complaints and suggestions regarding how to better include persons with disabilities in our business and in our workforce.

    Please forward your feedback, complaints or suggestions to:

    Consumer Affairs
    Phone: 1-888-336-1995
    Email: contactus@carters.com
    Website: www.cartersoshkosh.ca

Politique sur l’accessibilité



    The Genuine Canadian Corporation

    Plan pluriannuel relatif aux normes d’accessibilité intégrée –
    Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO)

    HR-225b ON
    Date de mise à jour : décembre 2017

    Ce plan d’accessibilité 2014-2021 énonce les politiques et mesures qu’adoptera la société The Genuine Canadian Corporation dans le but d’améliorer les perspectives des personnes handicapées en Ontario.

    Énoncé d’engagement

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’engage à traiter toutes les personnes d’une manière qui leur permet de maintenir leur dignité et autonomie. Nous croyons à l’intégration et à l’égalité des chances. Nous nous engageons à répondre, en temps opportun, aux besoins des personnes handicapées en prévenant et en éliminant les obstacles à l’accessibilité et en nous conformant aux exigences relatives à l’accessibilité. En Ontario, nous nous engageons à remplir nos obligations en vertu de la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario.

    Application

    La présente politique s’applique à l’ensemble de notre effectif en Ontario et à tous les employés qui interagissent avec des personnes en Ontario.

    Renseignements sur l’accessibilité en cas d’urgence

    De manière continue, nous fournissons aux employés handicapés un document individualisé sur les interventions d’urgence, selon les besoins.

    Service à la clientèle

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’efforce d’offrir en tout temps des biens et des services d’une manière qui respecte la dignité et l’autonomie des personnes handicapées.

    Interruption temporaire

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’engage à annoncer toute interruption à l’accessibilité (par ex. portes automatisées, toilettes accessibles, ascenseurs, escaliers mécaniques) aussi rapidement et efficacement que possible et à aviser de la date prévue de rétablissement du service et des solutions de rechange à l’accessibilité.

    Formation

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation offre un programme de formation solide aux employés qui travaillent auprès du public. Ces personnes ont été formées sur les lois en matière d’accessibilité et sur le Code des droits de la personne régissant l’Ontario, plus précisément sur les dispositions relatives aux personnes handicapées. Les nouveaux employés reçoivent la formation dans le cadre de leur initiation.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation forme les employés de l’Ontario et ceux qui traitent avec le public en Ontario sur les lois en matière d’accessibilité et sur les dispositions portant sur les personnes handicapées du Code des droits de la personne régissant l’Ontario. La formation sera offerte de manière à s’adapter le mieux possible aux fonctions des employés et tiendra compte des besoins en matière d’accessibilité.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation suit la démarche suivante pour s’assurer que les employés reçoivent la formation requise pour se conformer aux lois en matière d’accessibilité de l’Ontario :

    • fournit aux employés de l’Ontario une formation sur le service à la clientèle accessible pour les personnes handicapées et sur le Code des droits de la personne dès que possible après que les employés commencent leur emploi;
    • forme à nouveau les employés de l’Ontario lorsque des changements sont apportés aux politiques en matière d’accessibilité ou aux exigences législatives et, dans tous les cas, au moins tous les 24 mois;
    • conserve un registre de la formation sur l’accessibilité fournie aux employés;
    • offre une formation pour rafraîchir les connaissances de façon périodique.

    Information et communication

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’engage à satisfaire aux besoins en communication des personnes handicapées. Nous consultons ces personnes pour déterminer leurs besoins en renseignements et en communication.

    Depuis le 1er janvier 2014, The Genuine Canadian Corporation veille à ce que tous les nouveaux sites Web gérés par The Genuine Canadian Corporation et leur contenu se conforment aux Règles pour l’accessibilité des contenus Web (WCAG 2.0, niveau A). De plus, tout contenu Web publié le 1er janvier 2012 ou après sur les sites Web que The Genuine Canadian Corporation gère se conforme aux règles WCAG 2.0, niveau A, depuis le 1er janvier 2014.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’assure que les processus relatifs aux rétroactions sont accessibles, sur demande, à la grandeur de la société et par tous les membres du public, et ce, peu importe le handicap, depuis le 1er janvier 2015.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation consent et est en mesure d’envoyer les documents en format PDF (ou autre format) pouvant être facilement lus à l’aide d’un lecteur sonore d’écran, sur demande.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation veille à ce que tous les renseignements publics soient accessibles. La société consultera la personne soumettant une demande afin de déterminer les formats accessibles ou les aides à la communication nécessaires.

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’assurera que tous les sites Web qu’elle gère se conforment aux Règles pour l’accessibilité des contenus Web (WCAG 2.0, niveau AA) d’ici le 1er janvier 2021, à l’exception des exemptions permises par la loi.

    Emploi

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation souscrit aux pratiques d’emploi équitables et accessibles. Nous sommes déterminés à formaliser par écrit et à incorporer, en temps opportun au plus tard le 1er janvier 2016, nos processus dans le cadre de notre programme de formation.

    Nous tenons à garantir que toutes les actions, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter les actions liées au recrutement des employés, à leur sélection, embauche, évaluation du rendement, formation, aux changements de poste, etc. sont menées de manière objective.

    • Nous prenons déjà des mesures raisonnables pour accommoder les limitations physiques ou mentales connues d’une personne handicapée autrement qualifiée à moins de contrainte excessive.
    • Tout candidat ou employé nécessitant des mesures d’adaptation pour s’acquitter des fonctions essentielles de son poste sera informé du processus à suivre pour communiquer avec un membre de l’équipe des Ressources humaines et demander de telles mesures d’adaptation.
    • Nous aviserons aussi les employés actuels et les postulants de la disponibilité des mesures d’adaptation pour les personnes handicapées pendant les étapes ci-dessous :
      • pendant le processus de recrutement, dans les annonces ou les avis d’emplois vacants : lorsque les postulants sont individuellement sélectionnés pour participer à une évaluation ou à un processus de sélection.
      • quand/si un postulant choisi demande une mesure d’adaptation, The Genuine Canadian Corporation discutera avec ce postulant et fournira ou prendra les dispositions pour fournir une mesure d’adaptation convenable tenant compte du handicap de cette personne.
      • lorsqu’un postulant est retenu, nous l’aviserons des politiques régissant les mesures d’adaptation à l’intention des employés handicapés.
      • après que le candidat débute son emploi, il sera informé de la disponibilité des mesures d’adaptation et de la manière d’y accéder.
      • Les employés seront notifiés en temps opportun de tout changement aux politiques actuelles relatives à l’accessibilité ou aux droits de la personne.
      • Les employés seront formés sur leurs droits et obligations en vertu du Code des droits de la personne et des lois en matière d’accessibilité régissant l’Ontario de façon périodique au moins tous les 24 mois.
      • La communication avec les employés et les candidats tiendra compte des besoins en matière d’accessibilité.

    Conçoit et fournit une formation appropriée aux gérants et autres employés chargés de faciliter le processus de retour au travail et de mesures d’adaptation. Cette formation vise à assurer l’application efficace des processus de manière constante. The Genuine Canadian Corporation doit s’assurer que tout PAI est pris en compte pour la gestion du rendement, le développement et perfectionnement professionnels et la réaffectation (comme solution de rechange à une mise à pied).

    Gestion du rendement et développement de carrière

    Dès le 1er janvier 2016, The Genuine Canadian Corporation :

    • reverra et, le cas échéant, modifiera les processus actuels relatifs à la gestion du rendement, au développement de carrière et à la réaffectation afin de s’assurer que les besoins en matière d’accessibilité et de plans d’adaptation individuels des employés handicapés sont pris en compte.
    • élaborera et fournira une formation appropriée aux gérants et aux autres employés chargés du soutien ou qui ont de l’influence sur les processus relatifs à la gestion du rendement, au développement de carrière et à l’avancement professionnel qui assurera la conformité aux processus sur une base continue.

    Performance Management and Career Development

    By January 1, 2016, The Genuine Canadian Corporation will:

    • Review and, as necessary, modify existing performance management, career development and redeployment processes to ensure that the accessibility needs and individual accommodation plans of colleagues with disabilities are taken into account
    • Develop and provide appropriate training to managers and other employees responsible for supporting or impacting performance management, career development and advancement processes that will ensure compliance with the processes on a continuous basis

    Aménagement des espaces publics

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’est déjà engagée à maintenir le principe de l’accessibilité dans le cadre de sa philosophie de conception en cours. À l’égard de tout nouveau projet de construction ou de rénovation, The Genuine Canadian Corporation respectera les normes d’accessibilité pour la conception des espaces publics lors de la construction ou la modification majeure des espaces publics en sa possession ou sous sa gestion.

    Les espaces publics comprennent :

    • les comptoirs de service
    • l’entrée principale du magasin
    • les toilettes et les cabines d’essayage
    • les aires de stationnement et les voies piétonnes à l’extérieur du magasin lorsque celles-ci sont sous notre gestion

    En cas d’interruption de service, The Genuine Canadian Corporation avisera le public de ladite interruption dès que possible et fournira une description des solutions de rechange, le cas échéant.

    Coordonnées pour les rétroactions, plaintes et suggestions

    The Genuine Canadian Corporation s’intéresse aux rétroactions, plaintes et suggestions sur les façons de mieux intégrer les personnes handicapées au sein de notre compagnie et de notre effectif.

    Veuillez adresser vos rétroactions, plaintes ou suggestions à :

    Service de relations avec les consommateurs
    Téléphone : 1-888-336-1995
    Courriel : contactus@carters.com
    Site Web : www.cartersoshkosh.ca